Power Shortage

Power cuts are a common thing in Delhi. So I didn’t pay much heed to the fact that some of my lights didn’t work when I came home from work. Clearly my Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) had taken over, which only powers some of the electric circuits I need for not standing in complete darkness, but not all of them, as the batteries – even though they are the size of a small fridge – would for sure empty in no time when I’d connect the UPS to my ACs.

But when I came home again a couple of hours later, power still wasn’t restored. Too tired to take action so late at night, I sank into my bed and hoped the monsoon had cooled the air enough so I could find sleep without the fresh wind and the soothing tone from my AC. Turned out I could sleep at 26 degrees celsius (plus 2 or 3 degrees, as the walls of my top floor flat store some heat of the day).

Still no power the next morning. I woke up to the horrible peeping my UPS uttered as the batteries were empty now. So I called my landlord – and it turned out I could have had power all along, if I only had turned the fuses.

This solved, the UPS still clicked weird. My landlord’s son came to my rescue, as  I stood helpless in front of it. I revealed to him that I had no idea how these units worked as we don’t have them in our households in Germany. “So how do you bridge power cuts then?”, he asked. When I answered that there are virtually no power cuts, he gaped at me in huge disbelief.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment

Delhi Encounters

(Daily) News from Delhi

Experience - The Blog by Ash Bhardwaj

Culture. Travel. Physicality

India Real Time

Unique analysis and insights from The Wall Street Journal and Dow Jones Newswires on the daily news in the world's largest democracy

India Ink

(Daily) News from Delhi